How do I report Oregon transit tax on my W-2?
Department regulations require employers to report the Oregon statewide transit tax in Box 14 of Form W-2, with the designation “ORSTT W/H” (for example ORSTT W/H – $15.00).
Who is subject to Oregon statewide transit tax?
On July 1, 2018, employers must start withholding the statewide transit tax —which is one-tenth of 1 percent—from: Wages of Oregon residents (regardless of where the work is performed). Wages of nonresidents who perform services in Oregon.
How do I report Oregon transit tax?
Your transit tax is reported quarterly using the Ore- gon Quarterly Tax Report (Form OQ). Make your pay- ment using the payment coupon, Form OR-OTC-V, or through the department’s electronic fund transfer (EFT). For EFT information, call 503-945-8100 option 4 then option 1.
What is Oregon Statewide Transit individual tax return?
As a result, interest and penalties with respect to the Oregon tax filings and payments extended by this Order will begin to accrue on May 18, 2021. The statewide transit individual (STI) tax helps fund public transportation services within Oregon. The tax is one-tenth of one percent (0.001), or $1 per $1,000 of wages.
Who is exempt from Oregon transit tax?
All wages paid for domestic service described in 316.162 (Definitions for ORS 316.162 to 316.221)(c) are exempt from withholding and transit payroll tax.
Who pays TriMet transit tax?
For more information, call TriMet at 503-962-6466, or access their website at www.trimet.org. The tax rate is 0.006418 (0.6418 of 1 percent). Who must file and pay this tax? Anyone who has self-employment earnings from busi ness or service activities carried on in the TriMet District must pay this tax.
What are Oregon payroll taxes?
Oregon Payroll Taxes
It’s a progressive income tax ranging from 4.75% to 9.9%, meaning the more money your employees make, the higher the income tax. Employees who work in Oregon also have to pay a transit tax of 0.01%. You must withhold this tax from employee wages.
Who pays the LTD tax in Oregon?
The tax rate is 0.0074 (. 7400 of 1 percent). Who must file and pay this tax? Anyone who has self-employment earnings from business or service activities carried on in the Lane Transit District must pay this tax.
How do I fill out a box 14 on my taxes?
Employers can put just about anything in box 14; it’s a catch-all for items that don’t have their own dedicated box on the W-2. In TurboTax, enter the description from your W-2’s box 14 on the first field in the row. Enter the dollar amount and select the correct tax category that goes with that description.
What is transit tax in Oregon?
The Oregon transit tax is a statewide payroll tax that employers withhold from employee wages. Oregon employers must withhold 0.1% (0.001) from each employee’s gross pay. … Employees are not exempt from the Oregon transit tax withholding, even if they are exempt from federal income tax withholding.
Can I still fill out for my stimulus check?
The tax filing extension deadline is October 15, 2021. If you missed the filing deadline, you can still file your tax return to get your first and second stimulus checks. If you don’t owe taxes, there is no penalty for filing late.